Do Trailers Reveal Too Much?

by: Matthew J.R. Kohler

Trailers are supposed to give the audience a taste of a movie, not give away everything.  I feel that for a while now, all trailers do is reveal the best parts of the movie. Nowadays, trailers throw everything at you, which means there are less things for  you to be excited about in the theatre.  I noticed this recently with movies such as Batman vs. Superman, X-Men: Days of Future Past, and The Dark Knight Rises.  Now, I know one of these has not been released, but it falls in the same feel as the other two.

-At least Batman Returns let people known it was going to be a sexual sequel.

In The Dark Knight Rises, we see Bane being just like Joker in The Dark Night, Batman being the same Batman like in the previous two films, and there is a huge fight between 10,000 people.  All of this happens for about forty minutes of the three hour movie.  They should have tried to show a trailer that was more dramatic than action based, because that is how the film actually is, but I guess the movie would not sell many tickets that way. I think the movie fell flat partly because of the trailer makes the film appear that it will be nonstop action the whole time.

Unlike the other two, X-Men: Days of Future Past manipulates the audience a different way. Once again, it shows all the good stuff from the “future” scenes, but it also uses a tone that is not seen in the movie.  The trailer makes it seem that the old cast was going to be prominent in the movie.  It also seemed that the future was going to play an important role.

Well, Wolverine was in it, does that count?

Not only did that happen, but most of the movie dragged, or was just plain boring.  They hyped Quicksilver in the trailers, when, in fact, he was in one scene.  The trailer gave the impression that it could have been the best of the X-Men bunch, but instead, I cannot even watch the movie anymore.  This is mainly why I don’t get hyped when I see a trailer, talking to you Ip Man 3!  The X-Men: Days of Future Past trailer a lot of action, a lot of drama, and a little of “Hey, the first one was awesome, this looks even better.”  Not only did this movie have some of the worst CGI I have seen in recent years, but I could not stand how the filmmakers dealt with the characters of Magneto, or Mystique in this movie.  The only scene that holds up to the trailer was the scene between James McAvoy and Patrick Stewart.   I guess having two amazing actors in one scene can’t go too wrong.

Let’s look into the future, 2016.

Holy cow, it’s almost here! It’s the day we’ve all been waiting for! Batman vs. Superman!  The crowd sits down.  I decide to go because cause I enjoy being disappointed (what can I say). I purchase the high salt intake popcorn, and I sit down to watch the trailers for movies that could be good.  Then, just as the movie starts,  I realize, “What the hell! I saw all this in the trailer.”

No matter how hard you try, you cannot get excited for scenes you’ve already seen, I’ve tried it with movies such as Captain America: The Winter Soldier and Godzilla.  The experience was not fun.  No matter what everyone wants to believe, the trailer has showed the best parts of the movie, and because I’ve already been excited, I will never get that excited for it again, unless what they were doing was real (talking to you martial art fans, you know who we are!).  Batman vs. Superman is going to come out, and it will go just like all big blockbusters, because, let’s face it, trailers are designed to get the audience pumped until its sequel comes out.  Then, it will start all over again.

Leave a Reply

